Brush Alumni Association header.



2019 Scholarship Presentations

Original Release: 10/28/2019

2019 Scholarship Presentations - Charles F. Brush Alumni Association
Bonnie Abbey

By: Bonnie Abbey '68, Treasurer
Charles F. Brush Alumni Association

The Senior Awards Night was held on May 8, 2019 in the Brush Performing Arts Center. Seniors with a 3.00 cumulative grade point average were invited to attend the program. Presenters came from as far away as Vermont and Maryland to honor seniors with scholarships. The program demonstrated the generosity of the Brush community. For two hours people came to the stage and presented scholarships. The Brush Alumni Association administered twelve scholarships totaling $19,000.

Among this year's highlights was the presentation of the first Ted Bell Mathematics Prize, which was given by Michael Wertheimer (Class of '75) to honor his math teacher. Since 1993, the alumni association has distributed nearly $214,000. to deserving Brush seniors. All students were given certificates for their academic performance.

  • Elena Kamm Flores - $1000 John Jacque Memorial

  • Kristin Marie Ciccotti - $1000 Thomas J. Murrick
    Memorial Scholarship

  • Rebecca Rossi - $2000 Junie Speed Davis
    Blackmore Scholarship

  • Darshan Adhikari - $500 Class of 1984

  • Rebecca Rossi - $5000 The Jo Ann Soderquist Kramer
    Scholarship for Excellence in Physics & English, Class of 1960

  • Darshan Adhikari - $1000 Brush High Alumni
    Association Scholarship for Teacher Education

  • Nathaniel Colbert III - $2000 Class of '61

  • Eve Horrigan - $2000 Class of '61

  • Teresa Brindza - $2000 Class of '61

  • Raven V. Grice - $1,000 Eugene A. Torok Memorial

  • Kristin Marie Ciccotti - $1000 Blaze N. Bernstein

  • Elizabeth Farren - $1000 The Theodore Bell Mathematics
    Prize (first annual)

2019 Scholarship Presentations - Charles F. Brush Alumni Association
Jo Ann Soderquist Kramer, '60 and Bonnie Abbey, '68.

Presenters at the awards program included: Bonnie Abbey (Class of 1968), Scholarship Committee Chair; Jo Ann Soderquist Kramer (Class of 1960), Mark McCann (Class of 1984); Dana Marie DeCapite, Christine Murnick DeCapite and her daughter Maggie, granddaughters and great granddaughter of Thomas J. Murnick; and Michael Wertheimer (Class of 1975) who introduced Ted Bell, presenter of "his" award.

By contributing to these scholarships, Brush alums have not only provided monetary help to these recipients' futures, but also to the future of Brush High School, the South Euclid/Lyndhurst community, and perhaps the world! We thank you, Brush Alumni, for your years of loyalty and caring. If you would like to create a scholarship in your name, your class, or someone else's name, please contact me at ✉. And, if you wish to contribute to any of the named scholarships above, please note that on your envelope when you return it with your dues. Thank you.

Click or tap to return to the top of this page.

Information provided by:
The Charles F. Brush Alumni Association

5044 Mayfield Road
Lyndhurst, Ohio 44124
 Google Maps icon.
(216) 691-2108 🌐 🌐